Nutty Creations



Knitscene Winter/Spring 2011

I always look forward to new issues of Knitscene magazine, but the issue coming out in a couple of weeks is particularly near and dear to my heart.  Take a look at the preview.  Figure out why I am so excited?  Yeah, that’s right.  I am the featured designer, and I have my own little collection.  I was thrilled when Lisa asked me to do this last summer — it has been hard to keep it all under wraps.  Lisa, Amy, and everyone else involved in the magazine production are just fabulous.  I had the opportunity to attend the photo shoot.  It was so much fun to see what goes into making your designs come alive.  And they could not be nicer people!  Now I can begin telling you about the collection.  There are 4 new designs, and I think I will give them each their own post.

So, the first design is the Belvedere Cardigan.  It is a roomy lace cardigan knit up in Spud & Chloe Sweater.  This yarn is a fantastic heavy worsted blend of wool and cotton.  It has a nice all-season feel to it (soft enough for children), and the wool content makes it super easy to work with.  There will definitely be more projects coming off my needles in this yarn!

The sweater is knit in pieces with raglan shaping and a wide neck.  The fabric is a very simple lace motif edged with ribbing.  Perfect for the knitter who hasn’t done much with lace before, but still fun for the more experienced knitter, too.

Don’t be intimidated by the seaming!  The seams are nice and straight.  With the larger gauge, you won’t believe how quickly this project knits up.  Now I have to make one for me.

Photos are copyright Interweave Press and Joe Coca.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. People are talking about Knitscene Winter/Spring 2011! - Inside Knitscene - Knitting Daily pingbacked on 3 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * Anne says:

    I saw the preview – LOVE all your projects!!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Helen says:

    Congratulations Debbie!!! You should be so proud of yourself!
    I love the designs and look forward to making the shawlette
    sometime.

    Helen

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  3. * KB says:

    Love the sweater! I want to make a cropped version.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

