Nutty Creations



Paperboy Cardigan

The next Knitscene design on deck is the Paperboy Cardigan.  Anyone who knows me with respect to knitting probably can tell you about my obsession with Cascade 220.  It is easy to work with, comes in a billion colors, has good yardage, is affordable, and looks nice knit up.  What is there not to like?!  One of my favorite uses of Cascade 220 is cables.  The yarn works nicely with textured stitch patterns.

The Paperboy Cardigan is my interpretation of a cabled “boyfriend” cardigan — a classic, loose fitting v-neck cardigan.  Elaborate cable panels are bordered with seed stitch.  The sleeves have long ribbed cuffs, suitable for rolling up.  It is knit flat in pieces, then seamed.  The shaping is very basic.

I’d wear this sweater with a t-shirt and a favorite pair of jeans, but I love how Knitscene has taken it a step further with the trousers and chunky jewelry.  This is a sweater that is meant to be lived in.

I have to thank my awesome sister, Laura, for knitting the body of this one for me.  Doesn’t she do nice work?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. People are talking about Knitscene Winter/Spring 2011! - Inside Knitscene - Knitting Daily pingbacked on 3 years, 10 months ago

Comments

  1. * Judy P says:

    Just love this. Maybe the magazine will be at Knit Knack when I go to knitting tonight. Also would be great in BWA.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Sandra says:

    I am making this with a Galway yarn with the same gauge. I am using smaller needles to try to get the right seed stitch gauge but don’t want the feel to be too tight. Any ideas about achieving correct gauge with this garment?

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

