Nutty Creations



Piccadill Pullover

Whoops! Got a little behind in the unveiling of my designs in the newest Knitscene!  Let’s resume where we left off.  I have shown you two cardigans.  The next design is a pullover called the Piccadill Pullover.  I am really pleased with the way this one turned out.  It is knit up in Tahki Coast, which is a nice cotton and wool blend.  Perfect for any season around here.  The yarn is soft and lofty.  The pullover can be worn against the skin or layered as shown in the magazine.

The construction of this sweater is a little different.  The front and back are knit from the top down, creating a nice little lacy scallop at the neck.  The hems and cuffs are hemmed.  The square neck (where it is not lace) is trimmed with garter stitch that is knit as you go.  The sleeves flow into saddle shoulders that meet across the upper back.  The only finishing is the sewing.

The waist is shaped, so the sweater has a nice feminine shape to it.  And did I mention that bit of lace at the neck line?  I love that little detail.  I think this would be a versatile addition to any wardrobe — you can wear it with anything.  Guess I better make one for me!

Enjoy!

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. People are talking about Knitscene Winter/Spring 2011! - Inside Knitscene - Knitting Daily pingbacked on 3 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * socksformum says:

    I love it! Nice design work!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Judy P says:

    This is lovely. I keep looking for the magazine, when do we expect it ? Gotta make the Paperboy!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
    • * nuttycreations says:

      There has been a King Soopers and a Barnes and Noble sighting in the last 24 hours. Sounds like it is showing up in stores now!

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Judy P says:

    Got the issue at B/N. Love all the designs and the article was very nice. Nice plug for Marilyn.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Kristen Bucci says:

    I love this pullover! A question about the suggested yarn … The pattern lists the suggested yarn weight as DK, however the yarn you used is a worsted weight. What do you recommend? I have some wool/silk 8 ply DK that I think would be nice for this pattern but the ball band has a suggested gauge of 22 sts on US 6.
    Thank you,
    Kristen

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Marie-Do says:

    I instantly fell in love with this pattern when I first saw it browsing the web about a week ago. The most difficult thing was to find a site which held the right quantity of yarn in the wright color… not so easy when you leave in Paris, France… I finally made it this evening !! Congratuations for all your patterns in Knitscene, they’re absolutely georgous. I already subscribe to a number of American knitting magazines, and I am seriously considering subscribing to this one.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Trish McC says:

    This is so pretty, I love it. I should re-learn knitting!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago
  7. * mary dovey says:

    Hello-
    I have been knitting piccadill pullover and enjoying it but hit a direction I can’t understand. I’m at the right sleeve, just finished BO the last 30 stitches and have 30 left on the needle. I understand that I will rejoin the yarn…but I don’t understand the direction to continue in garter and St st patt. What garter? Are there a certain number of stitches that I should knit and then purl like the earlier direction? I seem to think that I should only do stockinette. I can’t figure this out, help! thanks.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 6 months ago
    • * Sally Boike says:

      I have the same question as Mary Dovey. On the needles it looks like there are three stitches in garter and the rest in stockinette, but when I look at the photos of the finished project it looks like garter across the back shoulders. Thanks in advance for your help

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 6 months ago
      • * nuttycreations says:

        Here is what Mary and I talked about… There are really just 3 garter stitches, then the rest is stockinette. This just creates a nice little built in edge trim around the neck opening!

        Posted 3 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

