Nutty Creations



Bas-Relief Socks

Time to introduce the last design from my Knitscene collection. First, though, I want to tell you a little bit about my thinking in designing this collection. For those of you who know me, you may see a bit of a theme in that the designs in this collection all use lace and texture, my favorites for knitting. You probably also noticed that these are all the type of pieces you would see me wearing around all the time. I really wanted to come up with a collection that had some sort of theme, however tenuous it might be. So, my theme is what I love to knit: 4 pieces that are full of texture, fun to knit, but completely practical to wear. I hope you all enjoy the patterns, too.

Anyway, on to the last design…  The Bas-Relief Socks.

These socks are knit from the top down in a twisted stitch pattern with just a hint of lace.  The yarn used is Madelinetosh Tosh Sock, which I will highly recommend — nice twist, awesome colors.  It is just perfect for this kind of project.

The socks start with a basic twisted rib that flows into a more elaborate pattern that eventually comes to a point on the instep.  The heel flap has what I like to think of as a twisted stitch racing stripe pattern on it.

I hope you have all enjoyed seeing my Knitscene collection.  I sure enjoyed producing it!  One final note…  Facebook users, come join us on the Nutty Creations page.  There is a fun Knitscene-related giveaway coming up soon for Facebook fans!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. People are talking about Knitscene Winter/Spring 2011! - Inside Knitscene - Knitting Daily pingbacked on 3 years, 7 months ago

Comments

  1. * Eva Anderson says:

    Can you tell me why the name of these socks is “Bas-relief”? Anything to do with Antarctica?

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

