Nutty Creations



Vogue Knitting Holiday 2009

Sorry to have been a little quiet lately.  I have been really busy with lots of stuff — some knitting related, some not — all of it good.  There is lots to share, so let’s begin!

The big news to share today!  I have a new sock design in the Holiday 2009 issue of Vogue Knitting.  That’s right.  Vogue Knitting.  How cool is that?  I am so excited!  This design is one of my favorites out of all I have done over the years.  I just love it.  The yarn, Artyarns Cashmere Sock, is a real treat, too.  The yarn is expensive, but it is heavenly! Do you know how badly I wanted to keep this pair of socks?

Lace Socks from Vogue Knitting Holiday 2009

Lace Socks from Vogue Knitting Holiday 2009

The socks are knit from the top down in panels of a couple different lace motifs. The lace carries down on to the heel flap and instep. They aren’t the most mindless of socks to knit, but the end result is completely worth it. In terms of the yarn used, the Artyarns Cashmere Sock is truly special both in content and construction (multiple strands not plied together!), but may not fit your budget. If you choose to substitute yarns, consider using a sport weight or heavy fingering weight yarn. I like the way the heavier yarn knit at a firm gauge worked up.

One last note on these socks… Check out the Vogue 360 view of the design. I think this is the coolest way to show off every angle of a knitting pattern!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Michelle Morin says:

    I wish I could knit these beautiful socks… For some reason, I tried to knit them six times, to no avail… I wish I would understand where I go wrong. I tried to knit the size small. I am discourage because I am a really good knitter, and this is the first project I could not master. Would you help me, Debbie?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

