Nutty Creations



My contribution to Boulder Busts Cancer

Boulder Community Hospital is having a breast cancer awareness fundraising event called Boulder Busts Cancer this Thursday.  If you live in the Boulder area, please consider attending this important event.  It should be lots of fun, and the proceeds are for a great cause!

Why am I talking about Boulder Busts Cancer?  I was honored to be asked to contribute an art piece to the event.  I decided to knit a lace bra.  Seemed like a good idea and not too difficult.  I soon realized, though, that I had never knit anything like that before.  There are some interesting issues with making a wearable bra, especially when you know basically nothing about lingerie construction.  After a little more thought, I figured I would make a wearable knit lace bra that was not adjustable.  That simplified the problem greatly — I could just use ribbons for straps and buttons for closures.  Fortunately, there is a book available called Knitted Lingerie Style by Jill McGowan-Michael to fill in the other gaps.

After perusing Knitted Lingerie Style, I decided I wanted to make something that was a little more like a camisole.  In other words, no fancy underwires and the such.  The book uses a lot of DK or worsted weight yarn.  I wanted to use lace weight yarn.  What I ended up doing was reading about how the shaping worked, recalculated a bunch of numbers based on a new gauge, plugged in some lace patterns, and came up with something that seemed like it would work.  I knit up the various pieces, then headed off to buy matching ribbon and buttons.  Now it was time to assemble.  Fingers were crossed that everything was right, and no reworking would be required.  (I was up against a deadline!)  Everything went together perfectly.  Apparently, miracles do happen.  I attached the buttons and was ready to do the straps.  I tried a few things, but nothing seemed right.  It was time to call in reinforcements.

I am very lucky to have a good friend, Susan Igou, who owns Studio Bernina and is an amazing tailor.  She was able to come over on short notice and help get all the final hand sewing and finishing details taken care of.  I wish you could see the quality of the finish.  It is something to behold indeed.  She deserves a special thanks for her work and turning a good project into a fantastic project!  If you are ever interested in learning to sew, she is the woman to talk to!

Enough blathering.  On to the finished project, which has exceeded all of my expectations.  A pattern will be coming some time soon.  That is how happy I am with the results.  The pictures were taken by Olivia Edwards, another friend of the family.

Lace Bra for Boulder Busts Cancer

Lace Bra for Boulder Busts Cancer

Lace Bra for Boulder Busts Cancer close up

Lace Bra for Boulder Busts Cancer close up

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * socksformum says:

    VERY, VERY beautiful! I’m impressed!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Savannah says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Susan says:

    Deb, what beautiful things you wrote about me. Thank you so much for the compliments! I was just wandering around the Internet on my iPad and found your site. It’s a pleasure to work with a fellow artist.
    Susan

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

