Nutty Creations



My Mom continues to be awesome…

About a month ago I wrote a birthday post to my Mom.  In it, I told you about how amazing she is.  Well, I am not the only one who thinks this about her.  Last night she was awarded the “Pat On The Back” Award by the Community Foundation.  (Follow the link — there is a nice write up!)  This award is a huge honor presented to an outstanding volunteer in the community.

Here is a little information about the award:

“The Pat on the Back Award is named to honor Pat Shoemaker and to recognize other individuals who have given extraordinary, but often unsung volunteer time in caring for the community.  Pat was a volunteer for Boulder Community Hospital for 28 years, and for14 years she produced monthly original craft displays for the hospital. Along with the displays, she made baby blankets and her specialty: animal-shaped covers to place over the toes of children with casts on their feet.  Her warmth and caring for others was a source of continual inspiration.  Pat was the Boulder Community Hospital Outstanding Volunteer of the Year in l983 and was honored as the Colorado Auxilian of the Year in l984.  She was a homemaker and the mother of two daughters, Linda Shoemaker of Boulder and Judi Miller of Tuscon, Az..”

So, wow, Mom!  We are pretty darn proud of you around here.  Keep up the good work!

In the role of Super Grandma

In the role of Super Grandma

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Heidi says:

    I totally love your yarn. The colors are gorgeous!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Amelia says:

    OOOH PRETTY!

    Picking one favorite yarn is pretty near impossible. But the first (of many favorites) that comes to mind at this moment is Malabrigo’s Silky Merino. I want to eat it for dessert. :9

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jen says:

    nice yarn! I love so many brands but seem to be unable to stop buying sock yarn of any kind – I love that I can buy one skein as a little gift to myself and I love making things other than socks with it – fingerless mitts, baby hats, and socks of course!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  4. * EllenB. says:

    I love ALL the yarn. The colors are so vibrant. The sock yarn looks particularly nice because of the TWIST in it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Pam says:

    Sock yarn is always an addiction because it’s so versetile (lace, socks, light sweaters, mitts). But my favorite at the moment is Smooshy. Love the gentle variation, long yardage, and soft hand. Missing is the tight twist I love about other sock yarn, but can’t have everything! (unless you’re talking about the semi-solids of Socks that Rock).

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Deb says:

    Your yarn is beautiful! I would love to try it out. I like Socks that Rock because the colors are gorgeous and it feels good in my hands–in addition, it wears extremely well.

    I also like the Sundara sock yarn. Also beautiful and wonderful quality.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Bev says:

    Your colors are beautiful! The older I get, the softer I like my yarn. STR is my favorite, but I’ve recently discovered Madeline Tosh. Both so yummy in color and smooshiness.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Deborah says:

    I would echo those who say it’s hard to choose just one, but my current favorite is Fleece Artist merino sock yarn which takes colors beautifully and has just the right amount of twist for me. No splitting when you knit, soft and smooth finished fabric, and while it’s wool, there is almost a silk sheen to it. Love it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

