Nutty Creations



Pink Dandelion Yarn and a Contest!

Pink Dandelion Yarn

Pink Dandelion Yarn

Surprise!  Kristi and I have been up to a little side project.  We have been trying our hand at dyeing yarn!  The best part?  It is available to you! So without further ado, we introduce yarn by Pink Dandelion.  We think it is awesome, and we hope you do, too.  Our colors are semi-solids, as we both like to design somewhat elaborate patterns, and those just work better in solid or semi-solid yarns.  If you see a color you like, you will want to snatch it up right away — there are no guarantees that any given color will show up again in the shop.

We currently have: 100% superwash merino sock,

Pink Dandelion Sock

Pink Dandelion Sock

80/20 merino/nylon sock,

Pink Dandelion Nylon Sock

Pink Dandelion Nylon Sock

and 100% merino lace yarns.

Pink Dandelion Merino Lace

Pink Dandelion Merino Lace

To help us celebrate the launch of our yarn line, we are having a little contest.  The winner, who will be selected randomly, will win a skein of Pink Dandelion Nylon Sock yarn.  All you have to do to enter is leave a comment telling us what your favorite yarn (brand, fiber content, weight, whatever!) is and why.  This information will help us to provide you with the yarn you want and give you a shot at increasing your stash!  Entries will be accepted until 10pm (mountain time) Monday, October 19.  We will announce the winner here Tuesday.

This could be yours!

This could be yours!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * SusanInStatenIsland says:

    Wow! Those colors are amazing. My favorite yarn of all time is Sunshine Yarns Luxury Sport. It’s soft and squishy and sproingy and the colors that Dani dyes are complex, deep and delicious. Congrats to you both and good luck!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Anne says:

    Gosh! Hard to pick just one yarn… I love so many of them! 🙂 DIC Smooshy is probably in the top five tho!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * danielle says:

    My new favorite is Paca-Peds, Superwash Alpaca Sock Yarn….best color ever=FIRESIDE!! It’s made by the Alpaca Yarn Company.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Ruth says:

    There are a number of yarns I like, but the common feature is a tight twist that wears well and is not splitty when knitting.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Alli says:

    There are so many great yarns out there it is hard to choose just one! Since you seem to have mostly sock yarns I will tell you my favorite sock yarn. I really like the tough-as-nails sock yarns and my current favorite is Cherry Tree Hill. The colors are great, the yarn has awesome stitch definition and the socks seem to wear very well.
    Thanks for the drawing, I hope I get to try your yarn sometime soon!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Sarah says:

    Love the look of these yarns! I’ll definitely be checking out the shop (it’s always good to have a reliable place for semisolids).

    My favorite yarn? Probably good old Cascade 220. It comes in a million colors, it’s affordable, the yardage is good, and it never disappoints me.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Kim says:

    Wow! Beautiful yarns!
    I’m not sure if I have one favorite yarn, but I use Malabrigo yarn a lot, so I’d have to say Malabrigo worsted weight. It’s soft & squishy & a good basic. But I love trying new yarns too.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Rachel says:

    I really like the Cascade Eco wool right now. I love that it is natural. I love that it is bulky. I love how much yardage you get in a skein. And I love the price. Plus it is beautiful and easy to work with. All good things!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  9. * Amanda says:

    A soft and cushy but still durable wool is always my favorite.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  10. * Dawn says:

    My favorites are Shibui, Pagewood Farm, and Dream in Color, but I just love anything that is super soft and smooshy 🙂 Your colors are beautiful.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  11. * jieun says:

    It’s a goal of mine to try out one of the luxury blend sock yarns (for example, one of the merino-cashmere-nylon blends that I’ve been seeing everywhere), but they’re still just a little too pricey for me to take the plunge. In general, I appreciate 100% superwash yarns, both merino and BFL. As for particular brands/yarns, I enjoy Malabrigo Sock because it feels lovely, has great drape for non-sock projects, has a great range of saturated colors, and is reasonably priced for the yardage.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  12. * Robin says:

    My favorite is Malabrigo Worsted. Like butter! and the colors, too wonderful. I love the lace colors you guys have created. Gorgeous!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  13. * Malia says:

    Like everyone else I have problems choosing just one. It’s a pretty even tie between anything Malabrigo and anything Dream in Color. I even convinced my LYS to start carrying the DIC line after bringing in so many creations using Classy or Smooshy. I’m still working on the Malabrigo. Give me time…

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  14. * Jackie Fisher says:

    Lov’n these yarns. Favorite yarn? Cascade 220. The variety of colors, affordable and yardage.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  15. * Amanda says:

    Just one favorite…tough, I like stuff like Mission Falls and Baby Ull that I can stash just one ball of and then over time have quite a collection to work from. But, I think a current favorite would have to be Blue Sky Alpaca Silk or Manos Silk.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  16. * Keilia says:

    My favorite yarn changes every few weeks… Anything Dream in Color is always up there, but I’m really enjoying Cascade Eco right now. You get a million miles of yarn for $15-ish. Affordability is very important to me. I also want decent yarn for my money–sock yarn shouldn’t felt the first time I wear my socks, and I hate knots.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  17. * Kelly H. says:

    I loooove anything merino with a tiiiight twist. Think Koigu KPM or KPPPM…yum!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  18. * mary says:

    My favorite yarn is Handmaiden Sea Silk but Malabrigo comes in a close second, either the Silky Merino or Worsted. Gorgeous colors on your yarns!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  19. * Darci says:

    I am a big fan of Sunshine Yarns – all yarn weights. I am really loving the trend towards semi-solids for their ability to make a pattern pop and still have some depth color and interest.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  20. * Angela says:

    Favorite yarn? I pick up malabrigo all the time. Half the time I pick up a skein of yarn, it turns out to be Malabrigo. The colors, the wool, just so lovely.

    On the other hand, my awesome boyfriend’s favorite yarn is Noro. He isn’t a knitter, but he helps me pick out yarn all the time. And just like me, half the time he has Noro in his hand. Funny little fella. (He is also handy to bring because he is just over 6′ and can always reach the top shelf for me.)

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  21. * Geknitics says:

    My favorite for socks is BFL. Stands up to wear better than 100% merino in my experience.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  22. * Sarah says:

    Seems to be a popular favorite, but one of my favs is also Malabrigo Worsted. I love the colors and the smooshiness once it’s knitted up. And it’s a light enough yarn to still be worn in the “winter” months in SoCal!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  23. * Fay says:

    My favorite yarn is currently Stricken Smitten, an indie dyer on etsy and my friend. http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=7086238 Of her yarn, I have some Merino Twist (100% superwash merino) but I’m pining for some of her Sinful Sock (cashmere/wool/nylon blend). I like that her colors are semi-solid with delicate variations, much like your colors, and of course that I’m supporting a small business owner and friend.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  24. * grace says:

    i love the MCN fingering weight yarns out there right now. i love the softness of it, the roundness of it (i like that it’s heavier than most finger weight yarns), and the way it takes dye. i love the deep and complex saturated colors that come out of it. lots of indie dyers are using it these days including sunshine yarns, plucky knitter, fiberphile, and squoosh.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  25. * monkeymanm says:

    That’s a tough call. I love YarnChef’s Cafe Au Lait DK weight – it always smells so good and is superduper soft!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  26. * Jen says:

    Lovely! Thanks for the contest!

    My absolute fav is Socks That Rock Lightweight. I pretty much go crazy for that tight spin on the yarn.

    I also enjoy anything that has a base of Louet or Kona for the same reason.

    Good luck with the yarn dyeing.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  27. * Jude says:

    I agree with the Dream in Color and the Malabrigo folks. I’m working for the first time with Handmaiden Sea Silk. Gotta love it.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  28. * Janis says:

    Loving the colors I’m seeing! I think two of my favorite sock yarns are Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock and Fleece Artist Merino sock. Amusing thing is, I haven’t used either for socks as of yet. Only for scarves and wrist warmers. 😀

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  29. * Barbara S says:

    Hard to say what I like best….Handmaiden sea silk is lovely and long yardage. Right now I’m enjoying Shibui sock…good stitch definition and the semi-solid color looks good with patterns. I’m starting to prefer semi-solids for socks as I find myself knitting more complex patterns lately and don’t want to lose the stitch patterns in a multi-colored yarn. Your colors are lovely, by the way. Good luck with your new store.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  30. * Megan says:

    I’m a purist with an edge. I love a good 100% merino or wool that is superwash. Not pilling and holding up to wear is really important to me too!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  31. * multicrafty says:

    Congratulations on the new line of yarn!! They all look wonderful! And I love the amount of yardage for the price!

    I do not really have a favorite brand, but I do love any yarn that is washable. With two kids, husband, a dog and life, I do not have time to handwash items.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  32. * Diana says:

    Oooh! These yarns all look yummy!!! I have to say that I really love the versatility of sock yarn. You can do so much more than just socks and they come in some beautiful colors and even self striping. I really like Panda in any fiber content!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  33. * Liz says:

    My favorite yarn is usually the one I am knitting with at the time, unless I hate it. Right now I am knitting up the GAAA with Araucania Naturewool and it is really nice and soft and squooshy! I also love the subtleties of the color variations.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  34. * Diane says:

    Socks that rock midweight – like the bounce when it knits, the stitch definition, and the tight twist.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  35. * Judy P says:

    For socks or baby items I love Fancy Image yarns from Shelton, WA. Great colors and both DK and fingering weight with good yardage and reasonable pricew.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  36. * Scrapper says:

    My favorite yarn is Woolganic DK 100% organic australian wool. It says it’s a DK but knits closer to a worsted. I love it because it’s plain, simple and soooooooo soooooft!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  37. * Sonja says:

    My favorite yarn (right now) is Handmaiden Mini Maiden (wool and silk single) because I just finished a project with it and it is so soft and shiny and pretty.
    I love the look of your yarns! The colors are gorgeous!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  38. * Ellen says:

    Hm, favorite yarn…very hard to choose. I love semi-solids, so I always try to go for those. Right now I think I’d say DIC Smooshy, it has a great springy texture, is super soft, and wears really well. I also love Malabrigo sock.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  39. * Dawn says:

    My favorite is Hazel Knits Artisan Sock. Followed closely by DIC smooshy.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  40. * ksh says:

    My favorite is Cascade 220–tons of colors, woolly but soft, great to knit with, inexpensive. Though I also love all the Dream in Color yarns, and Malabrigo is so soft. For socks I love Socks that Rock for the beautiful colors and tight twist, and I also love the plain workhorse yarns like Regia and Opal.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  41. * Susan says:

    My current favorite yarn is Pagewood Farms, the lace yarn and the Chugiak sock yarn. Their colorways are great, vibrant colors, variegated but not so much you can’t use them with fancy patterns. Chugiak makes great socks and is also a wonderful lace yarn – you gotta love a double purpose yarn. Shows detail in a pattern very well and dyes with very bright colors.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  42. * Nancy says:

    My favorite==today anyway— is Lamb’s Pride, worsted. I really like that bit of mohair halo. Also partial to the semi solid colors in any brand really. I like the Dream in Color I am using right now as well.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  43. * Lisa says:

    Those all look gorgeous!! Love all the colors, but I love the lace weights. So pretty 🙂

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  44. * SusanC says:

    Right now my favorite yarn weight is sock/fingering and I love the superwash with some nylon for strength. Love the new yarn, great colors. Wishing you the best of luck in the new endevor!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  45. * Cassie says:

    I lurve Cherry Tree Hill Supersock. So easy to work with, makes such a lovely knit. I love the twist.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  46. * April says:

    My favorite yarns are a good sturdy wool like Cascade 220. I can do a lot with them and mix and match when necessary.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  47. * Natasha says:

    I suppose I have a lot of favourites, but one that remains in my mind as a delightful yarn is a mulespun 70/30 alpaca/wool blend from Custom Woollen Mills in Alberta. It has really nice bounce and is very soft without being limp the way a pure alpaca yarn can be.

    Thanks for running the contest!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  48. * Mia says:

    Your yarn looks really really nice! I want some! Will come back.
    I love so many yarns… but the one that makes me most happy is the one spun from she sheep in Jämtland that are our summer neighbors. I love yarn that smells from lanoline.
    Other than that, I am also in love with Wollmeise, and Socks that rock that I’ve just begun to knit with. Great stuff 🙂

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  49. * Claudia says:

    My prefered yarn is Indigo Moon Merino Natural. The yarn base is a twisted as your sock yarn with has a good stitch definition and I like the natural colors too.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  50. * GinkgoKnits says:

    Pick a favorite yarn? That’s like choosing one out of a basket of puppies! I just knit up some A Verb for Keeping Warm laceweight/light fingering that’s 65% wool/35 % silk and is a lovely yarn. There are a lot of superwash laceweights out there and a base yarn that’s both wool without being superwash and has the shine of a touch of silk is a nice choice. I’m greatly drawn to wool/silk blends as I’m also fond of the Manos or Malabrigo merino/silk single ply yarns.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  51. * lykkefanten says:

    This is a really hard question to answer… my favorite yarn… hmmm… I guess it depends on what I want to knit. I looove malabrigo for scarves and sweaters, and dream in colour for mittens and socks, and then there are a certain couple of Danish yarns like Arwetta, which is my favorite sock yarn, and Nicolai garn which is a beautiful shetland yarn. I guess my favorite weight is a fingering/sock weight…
    My favorite colours you’ve already hit right on, as they are true, warm, deep colours in blues, reds, browns, and greens.
    I think your yarns looks sensational 😉

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  52. * Paula P says:

    I’m very fickle … currently my favorite is Sanguine Griffin’s sock yarn “bugga” – it is soft and beautiful. It is my current project. I also love soft wools in all sizes, beautiful colors in many fibers, gorgeous varigated yarns. I’m very fickle.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  53. * Elizabeth says:

    Such beautiful yarn! I love semi-solids. Currently (and bear in mind that my favorite changes frequently!) my favorite yarn is Malabrigo worsted, for its softness and the colors! I especially love the way the colors shift from dark to light and back again in unpredictable ways. Haven’t worn anything made with this yarn yet, tho’, so I do wonder if it will pill. Good luck with your shop!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  54. * Merna says:

    Smooshy! I love Dreams in Color Smooshy, no nylon added, all wool. I also like Louet Gems, also 100% wool, for sweaters, haven’t tried their sock yarn. Your colors are gorgeous.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  55. * Elizabeth says:

    My recent purchases have all seemed to contain alpaca, but I think an overall favorite would be Lorna’s Laces Shepard Sock. I like the tight twist and machine washability! Also all the great colors, from crazy brights to semi-solids.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  56. * Mary says:

    Depends on what kind of sock I’m making…
    For Mom I’ve really taken to Meilenweit (sp) as it’s got just the right amount of cotton for her and not too splitty for me…but I hate the way the colors wash out so fast.

    For color: Brown Sheep sock yarn it so bright and lovely…if only it didn’t bleed so much.

    For ease of knitting it’s a tie between Vesper sock yarn and Socks that Rock…only because one is much thinner than the other, so again, it depends on how thick the sock should be.

    New Favorite/this week? Pagewood Farms’ Yukon, it’s very forgiving, but I haven’t actually finished and worn the socks yet…only knit and rip and knit and rip…and it’s still going strong.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  57. * Jenae says:

    I don’t really have a favorite yarn. If forced I would have to say that knitting with Pagewood Farms BFL sock yarn was wonderful!! The softness of the yarn was almost like cashmere!

    Your colors are amazing!! Good luck with the new endeavor!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  58. * Jo says:

    I love handling and making non-sock-things out of 100% merino and tight twist sock yarns, but for actual socks I keep going back to Regia 4ply. It’s just so reliable. I know that anything I make out of it will last forever (or at least a good long time). How’s the durability of your wool/nylon base? Thanks.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  59. * Meghan says:

    I really like Poems by Wisdom Yarns. I’ve used it for everything from socks to hats, and it’s always gorgeous.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  60. * ikkinlala says:

    I can’t narrow it down to a brand, but my favourite yarn is sport or fingering weight (because most of what I knit is socks or mittens), wool or mostly wool, fairly tightly twisted (so it’s durable, has good stitch definition, and is not splitty), and has generous yardage (because I hate weaving in extra ends).

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  61. * Matilda says:

    My yarn preferences are pretty varied, but it takes a lot of will power to walk passed something sock-lace weight with a bit of silk, bamboo or sea-cell. Often in a blend with some merino or other sheepy stuff to give it some body and spring. I love a little bit of crunch and one sock weight or lace weight skein can be justified in a stash because it’s easy to make something out it. And then if it’s awesome, you can go out and stash every colourway.

    Probably my favourite would be Hand Maiden and some indie stuff from New Zealand that is currently defying naming.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  62. * Gina says:

    My current favorite is the Aunt Lydia’s Bamboo crochet thread in white from Wal-Mart (I know… treason…) it was in my budget… It is a lovely smooth yarn that knits up well and is easy to block.

    I used it to make my first lace shawl (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/blue-jeans-lace-leaf-shawl). When I was almost done with it, I found out that my grandma was very sick and decided that I would give it to her. Three weeks ago I got a call that she was very very sick and I should come immediately to see her. My fiance and I left PA for ND the next morning but she passed away before we got there. In the end she was burried in the shawl.

    If I knit the shawl again, I will knit it in the same yarn but I will dye it a nice fall color for the base and paint some of the leaves in other fall colors.

    I would love to learn to knit socks, I especially love your dark blue color or any other fall colors.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  63. * moirae says:

    I love Dream in Color Smooshy for it’s spring/squish factor and for the colors. It’s my favorite yarn and I wish I could get a base like there’s for my own dyeing!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  64. * moirae says:

    theirs. Sorry. I’m functionally illiterate at 2 30 am.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  65. * Dawn R says:

    My favorite sock yarn is Grace by Briar Rose Fibers. I love the bamboo in the yarn and it holds up well to wash wear.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  66. * Jennifer says:

    So many yarns to love … so many to choose from. I love most of the 80% superwash / 20% nylon wools. Summit Sock by Impulse of Delight is a great yarn base (and great subtle semi-solid colours), as is the Impulse of Delight 80% BFL 20% nylon. I also really like Eidos by Sanguine Gryphon. I like the tight twist of the BMFA Socks That Rock Lightweight and Mediumweight. I have a skein of Wollemeise which is an 80/20 blend, but seems to be about an 8-ply.

    In short: something durable with a tight twist. I also love 100% superwash merino. I’m less crazy about bamboo, because it can make the yarn splitty.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  67. * Rhonda says:

    My favorite yarn right now is Squoosh MCN. She also has an etsy shop. I used it at Cookie A.’s workshop this weekend and it is to dye for. 😉

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  68. * Melly says:

    My favorite RIGHT NOW is Malabrigo, period. Would love to win because I await Cookie A’s book and would like to knit it up, quick like.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  69. * KarenK says:

    My favorite sock yarn (so hard to choose!) would be Luxury from Creatively Dyed – it’s an 80/10/10 merino/cashmere/nylon blend. Sometimes the colors are too wildly variegated for me, but when I do find the right colorway, I indulge.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  70. * connie says:

    You’re crazy girls! And I love it–the semi-solids are so great for colorwork, I think, because I like that worn/well-washed look.

    My favorite yarns are high-twist sock yarns like Koigu KPPPM, Socks That Rock Lightweight, and anything with cashmere. I’d even take cashmere and hay (although the hay might be tricky to dye!).

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  71. * Carla B. says:

    I really like the Cascade Handpaints sock yarn that I just finished a pair of birthday socks last month. It is sooo soft, but the yarn didn’t split. It was a pleasure to work with!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  72. * Patti says:

    I love Koigu. I love their colours, the texture and patterns. However, it’s not so great to show off lace patterns. Yours might be my new favouriate.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  73. * Robyn says:

    My fave sock yarn right now is Tanis Fiber Arts. Her colors are vibrant and the base yarn is fabulous.

    I hope I get a chance to try out this new line of yarn! Looks lovely!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  74. * Jean says:

    Like most everyone else, I have a hard time picking a favorite yarn–if you could only see my stash, you’d know I was telling the truth! I would have to say that my favorite yarn is probably Berroco’s Pure Merino, Pure Merino DK, and Pure Merino Nuance. I love the tight twist, and the springy nature of it. I also love hand-dyed laceweight yarns…speaking of laceweight, your laceweight yarn looks lovely!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  75. * E to the M says:

    I don’t know if I can pick a favorite yarn. It would probably be sock weight because I mostly make socks and I like hand-dyed but then it gets tricky. If I’m making socks to last I like some nylon thrown in, if I’m making socks to show my love (aka little hugs on your feet) I love merino or cashmere.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  76. * laura says:

    My favorite yarn is Lorna’s Lace… softest I have knit with so far!!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  77. * Elis says:

    i’m a total yarn ho. My favorite depends on the task at hand. I love love koigu.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  78. * Linda in NC says:

    Right now my favorite yarn is Knit One, Crochet Too’s Douceur et Soie. I love the crunchy softness of the hand in the knitted fabric and the mohair halo and the richness the yarn base gives to the colors. Is it the yarn I use the most? No.

    But it may be that Douceur could be easily pushed from it’s #1 spot by other favorites – like Koigu….

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  79. * Madeleine says:

    Gorgeous! I’m so excited to see all the colors you come up with. I really really like Tess Yarns’ Sock & Baby for long-wear and pleasant knitting.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

