Nutty Creations



Baby gift for Kristi (and a contest winner)

Our little group of friends who hang out and knit together knit up a Circle of Friends blanket from Last Minute Knitted Gifts for Kristi and baby G.  For the record, Kristi, the circle of friends who knit this were Helen, Dani, Kristi A., Judy, Ingrid, Laura, and me.  The pattern, if you are not familiar with it, really is perfect for a group gift.  It is knit in garter stitch strips that are striped to look like separate blocks.  Knit in a heavier weight yarn, it would be a great throw, too.  Dani dyed up yarn for us to use based on my list of suggestions.  Didn’t she do an awesome job?  It is her sport weight merino, and it is really super duper yarn to work with.  And the colors?  Fantastic!  We have been trying to talk her into marketing kits so the rest of you can knit up something similar.  That is how good it is!  Take a look…

Circle of Friends Blanket

Circle of Friends Blanket

Seriously — the pictures do not do the colors justice!

Blanket Close Up

Blanket Close Up

I made a few modifications to the pattern to accommodate a different gauge and the fact that we wanted to use 8 colors instead of 7.  There is sewing involved (and lots of ends to weave in), but it is simple and goes fast.  If you read Kristi’s post about her baby shower, you saw that Judy and Ingrid were helping with the sewing and ends at the shower itself.  What can I say?  I ran out of time!

On to our Pink Dandelion Yarns contest winner!  First, though, I must thank you all for leaving comments.  It is so fun to read about what yarns people just love.  I saw a lot of my favorites listed and discovered some new ones.  I hope that some day our yarn will be up there in your favorites, too.  With that, the winner of a skein of Pink Dandelion Nylon Sock is… drum roll…

KarenK with comment #69!  Karen, congratulations, and I hope you enjoy your prize skein.

Kristi and I decided to award a second prize, too.  I forgot to specify what would happen when there was more than one comment from the same person.  I had meant to throw those out.  When I do that, our winner is Connie!  Connie, congratulations to you, too.  We will be giving you some hand dyed fiber.

Thanks to all for playing!  That was fun, and I foresee more blog contests in the future.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * connie says:

    That baby blanket is fabulous! Lucky baby G will be the envy of all.

    And a huge thanks for part 2 of the contest 😉

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. * KarenK says:

    Thank you so much for the fun contest! I can’t wait to try your yarn.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

