Nutty Creations



Why, yes, it is another sock pattern.

You all are going to get tired of me talking about new sock designs!  This time I’m here to tell you about a new sock for The Knitter.com‘s sock of the month club.  The pattern is On the Wings of a Dove, and it is the pattern included in Judy’s November mailing.

On the Wings of a Dove

On the Wings of a Dove is knit from the top down.  It incorporates 3 motifs — textured stitches, twisted stitches, and lace.  (The lace motif inspired the name, since it reminds me of flapping wings.)  Lots going on, but not at the same time.  Each motif is worked separately.  It is a surprisingly fast and easy sock to make.

On the Wings of a Dove

Anyway, the yarn used is Lana Grossa Meilenweit Merino.  I had not used this yarn before, but I will be using it again.  It is sort of a classic sock yarn, in that it is solid colored, smooth, and is a sturdy blend of wool and nylon.  But…  It is amazingly soft!  In fact, when I first saw the yarn, I immediately thinking of a twisted stitch pattern.  Once I got knitting, though, I realized that the soft, heathered yarn didn’t really show the pattern off, so I switched to something lacy.  I think it was a good decision.

This pattern is currently only available through TheKnitter.com.  I will make it widely available in April 2010.

Leave a Reply

