Nutty Creations



Sockupied

Earlier this year, the wonderful folks at Interweave contacted me to see if I would do a sock pattern for a super-secret project.  Of course I said yes.  It turns out the project is the new e-mag Sockupied, which is an interactive magazine devoted entirely to socks.

My project is the Crystalline Socks.  The project was presented to me as a challenge: Interweave would send me a solid sock yarn and a variegated sock yarn.  I was to design a sock that looked equally good in both yarns.  Designing with variegated yarn can be a tricky proposition.  The color changes can be unpredictable, and the shifting colors can take away from any patterning.  I knew I wanted to keep my design reasonably simple, yet interesting enough that a solid color sock would be fun to knit, too.  Small scale motifs are often good for this purpose.

These socks are knit from the cuff down.  The cuffs are knit in a simple irregular rib that transitions into a lace and twisted stitch motif.  The toes and heel flaps are worked in a twisted rib.  The sample socks are both knit in Cascade Heritage — one in a solid, the other in a variegated.  Heritage is a wonderful workhorse sock yarn — great durability, nice range of colors, and extremely affordable.  Of course, I am sure the pattern would work up great in any number of fingering weight yarns out there.

Enjoy the pattern!  I know I plan on making a pair for me.

And by the way Facebook users, stop by the Nutty Creations page.  Like the page, leave a comment, and have a shot at winning a Nutty Creations knitting pattern!  Refer friends to do the same, and have more chances at winning!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Anne says:

    They look great – I saw them in the mag preview!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Rita Tolbert says:

    Can I use the Crystalline Lace pattern in a generic sock pattern that fits me perfectly? It begins with 64 CO stitches.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Elizabeth Caskey says:

    I’m knitting these socks now. I don’t understand the “dec rnd” instructions. If you decrease in rnd 3 of pattern (of 12 rnds) how can you work only 5 more rnds in pattern (which would bring you to rnd 8 in the pattern) and still dec again on the next rnd 3? Are you supposed to dec in rnd 3, then knit to rnd 6 (3 rnds), then start over in rnd 1 of pattern and knit rnds 1&2 (3 + 2 = 5). This would bring you to rnd 3 again? Is this how it’s supposed to work?

    Also in the glossary the instructions for Sl 2, K1, p2sso I think are incorrect. The diagram is fine.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

