Nutty Creations



Woolgirl sock club

Imagine this.  I have another sock design to unveil.  I know that you are shocked speechless.  (I do try to keep the sock design flow steady…) This time, however, the sock  is for the Woolgirl Sock Club.  If you have never received a kit from Woolgirl, I highly recommend you purchase one as soon as possible.  They are so well themed and thought out.  When your package arrives, it is like receiving a beautiful gift — Jen seriously wraps them up like a present.  So much fun!

Anyway, on to socks.  Jen’s August club theme is Butterfly Kisses.  It just so happened that I had seen a butterfly stitch that I had just been itching to use.  Kismet I tell you.  The theme, motif, and a cheerful gold yarn led to Flutterby.

For this kit, Jen was offering Zen Yarn Garden Serenity in either the Serenity Sport sport weight yarn or the Serenity 20 fingering weight yarn.  (The color is a custom colorway for the club.)  Let me tell you.  Either choice is a pleasure to work with.  They are cashmere blend yarns — so soft and beautifully dyed.

Normally, I prefer to knit socks from the cuff down.  (Although I have been known to mix it up a little.)  I knew I needed to work these from the toe up so that the butterflies running up the back of the leg were properly oriented.

Do not be intimidated by these socks.  The lace running up the foot and front of the leg is quick to memorize, and the butterflies really aren’t that tricky!  The socks are topped with a modified twisted rib cuff that I just love.

Currently, the Flutterby pattern is available only to Woolgirl’s sock club members.  It will be widely available Summer 2011.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * dianne says:

    Your design is beautiful I love the ribbing and the back. I love the entire thing. Keep up the good work.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  2. * jamie says:

    I really like the cuff of this sock. The rest, too, of course, but the cuff just grabbed me in this colorway! Awesome!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

