Nutty Creations



Ariel Shawlette

I am so pleased to show you all this latest shawlette design.  I really love it!  Anne from Wooly Wonka Fibers and I paired up for the first installment of her Shakespeare in Lace Accessories club.  The yarn she provided is called Nimue, which is a 50-50 silk and merino blend.  (I don’t see it on her website yet…)  The color is an amazing icy blue — positively liquid.  The yarn itself is to die for.  I LOVE working with it.  I highly recommend that all you knitters run to purchase it when Anne gets it up on her site.  Seriously.

The inspiration for this project was Ariel, the air sprite from The Tempest.   I wanted to come up with lace motifs that gave the impression of flowing air currents.  The final shawlette incorporates 3 different motifs.

The shawlette starts with just a few stitches and gradually increases into a triangle.   (The pattern includes charts to show how the motifs grow with the shawlette.)  The edging is knit onto the shawl as you go.  No finishing beyond weaving in the ends and blocking!

I enjoyed knitting this project tremendously, and I hope you do, too.  The standalone pattern will be available in the spring some time.

Oh, and umm, there may be a companion piece in the works.  Just saying…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Anne says:

    You know I love it! SOOO pretty. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

