Nutty Creations



A new design: Gajra Socks

Whew!  Life got in the way for a while there.  It is time to catch up!  And, boy, do I have a lot to share.  Several new designs to show you over the next couple of weeks, plus I’ll be making some club exclusive designs widely available…

I think I will start with the design I did for the March edition of TheKnitter.com‘s sock of the month club.  The yarn Judy had picked out is Schoeller+Stahl Fortissima Color in reds and pinks.  This is one of those great, durable, workhorse yarns that basically stripes.  So, I knew I wanted to come up with a design with a strong horizontal motif.

Without further ado, here are the Gajra Socks.

The lace and garter stitch pattern combined with the colors kept reminding me of garlands or valances.  I started googling around for related name ideas and discovered gajras.  These are floral garlands worn by Indian women for special occasions, such as weddings or religious ceremonies.  Some of the pictures of gajras that I encountered were reminiscent of the sock, so hence the name.

The socks are knit from the top down, beginning with a twisted ribbing.  The gajra motif runs down the leg and top of the foot, while the heel flap contains just a hint of lace.

The pattern is currently only available in the March sock club kits from TheKnitter.com, but I will make the pattern widely available Summer 2011.

Enjoy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Martha S says:

    Love the pattern, love the colors! Good job!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

