Nutty Creations



Is it really Sunday evening?

I am sitting here typing, listening to it rain for the 27th time this weekend, wondering if it really could be Sunday evening already.  Sigh.  I thought summer days were supposed to be longer or something.

Anyway, let’s talk about the Garden Party Socks.  These socks are my latest design for theKnitter.com’s luxury sock of the month club.

These socks are knit from the top down in Classic Elite Alpaca Sox.  The colorway is a periwinkle/lavender color that I think would be beautiful in a shawl, too.  (Companion piece coming soon?  We’ll see…)

I love how the ribbing flows into the lace pattern…   And, yes.  The lace pattern is charted for you.

I don’t know if you can tell from the picture above, but the ribbing resumes again on the heel flap.

The lace is worked down the foot to the toes.  I had planned on getting all fancy with the lace on the instep, but then I decided that I really liked the lines of the lace pattern and didn’t want to mess with it.  Somehow makes me think of lilac blooms or other conical shaped flowers.

This sock pattern is currently available exclusively through theKnitter.com.  I will make the pattern widely available this fall.

 

Leave a Reply

