Nutty Creations



Riding the Rails Socks

So where were we?  Oh yes, I was going to tell you about some more designs, then make some patterns available for sale.  Today, I’ll focus on a sock design  This sock was for theKnitter.com’s sock of the month club.  I don’t normally make socks with heavier weights of yarn (these are worked up in Cascade 220), but I will say it is almost instant gratification!  Meet the Riding the Rails Socks!

These socks are worked from the cuff down.  The cuff and leg are worked in a twisted stitch ribbing pattern with occasional cable crosses — a motif I find to be both elegant and unisex.  Because, though, that pattern is textured and the yarn is heavy, I thought it might be a little uncomfortable inside a shoe, so the pattern transitions into a more traditional ribbing pattern for the instep.

Oh yeah, the twisted stitches do run down the heel flap, though!

The pattern is written up in several sizes, so you can knit it for anyone in your family or use several weights of yarn.  Gotta love that versatility!  Currently it is only available through theKnitter.com, but I will start selling it as a stand-alone pattern later this spring.

Happy knitting!


Leave a comment