Nutty Creations



Saint-Michel Socks

For the past couple of years, my friend SarahBess over on Ravelry has sponsored a sock knitting competition called the Tour de Sock.  The goal of this competition is to raise money for Doctors Without Borders.  Of course, she needs designers to contribute sock patterns for the competitors to knit, so once I again, I was more than happy to donate my efforts.

This year, I created a new sock design using Sunshine Yarns Classic in Ice Castle.  I love, love, love this colorway — kind of a gray with pinkish tones, perfect for the lace motif I wanted to use.  That lace motif?  Well, it reminded me of fancy fountains, say in a French garden.  Combine the stonework-like color, and the fountain motif, and I was thinking of castles, palaces, chateaus…  So, the new socks?  They became the Saint-Michel Socks.

The socks are knit from the top down, starting with a twisted rib and moving into a lace pattern with twisted stitches.

You can see that the lace pattern flows into the heel flap and down the toe.

Originally, this pattern was available only to Tour participants.  I have just made it available for everyone.  Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

