Nutty Creations



Dots!

Have you seen the preview for the new Interweave Knits Holiday Gifts 2012?  These holiday issues are always jam-packed with fun stuff!  I have a blanket design included in the issue — written up in four sizes from baby blanket to bed blanket.  It’s the Dots Blanket.

It is a super fun knit made up of garter stitch mitered squares.  While there are quite a few ends to weave in at the end (I recommend weaving as you go!), there is no sewing at all.  Everything is picked up and knit.  The sample is shown in 3 colors of Cascade 220 Superwash, but imagine all the fun you could have with this pattern and playing with color.

Photo copyright Interweave Knits.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Maria says:

    I have a question. I am on the first row of the blanket And I am picking up the 20 stitches plus one. Do you remember if you picked up 6 or 7 stitches from the CC Color? It seems to me that 6 works the best and the 14 in the main color however, after I have added a second square it appears that it would have been best to move it all “up” one stitch. Though I am not sure where that would come from. I have posted pics on my rav project page.
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/digitaldaisy/dots-blanket

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
    • * nuttycreations says:

      This poor comment got lost in all the Black Friday/Cyber Monday emails! The good news is that modular knitting is very flexible and you can do what looks best to your eye. When I picked up stitches, I picked up one stitch per “chain” along the edge. (This is basically in the ditch between ridges.) I started by picking up one stitch right at the corner of the square (almost around the corner), then worked up from there. That probably ended up being about 6 sts in the CC area, but I don’t remember for sure. It is okay if the edges are a little uneven. The binding will hide all of that!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

